Our Mission: To connect and enrich the Illinois water community
and increase the awareness of the impact and value of water.

Member Awards

These awards are presented at the Illinois Water Environment Association Annual Meeting each year. Forms for solicited nominations are listed in the table below. Please contact Christopher Buckely, IWEA Awards Committee Chair, if you have questions regarding the nomination process.
This years's deadline for IWEA Award Nominations is Friday, October, 2022 


On-line Nomination Form

Arthur Sidney Bedell AwardBedell Award
George W. Burke Safety AwardBurke Award Nomination Form
Paul Clinebell Outstanding Service AwardClinebell Award
Golden Manhole AwardGolden Manhole Award
William D. Hatfield AwardHatfield Award
Laboratory Analyst Excellence AwardLab Analyst Award
Kenneth C. Merideth Memorial AwardMerideth Award
Outstanding Young Professional AwardOutstanding Young Professional Award
Public Official AwardPublic Official Award
Technical Presentation Award 


Arthur Sidney Bedell Award
This award acknowledges extraordinary personal service to a Member Association.
Bedell Award Recipients

George W. Burke Safety Award
This award was established to encourage municipal and industrial wastewater facilities to participate in promoting an active and effective safety program and to stimulate the collecting and reporting in injury data. The recipient is chosen based on the quality of their documented safety program as well as innovative actions taken to prevent injuries and corrective measures taken when an injury occurs.
Burke Award Recipients

Paul Clinebell Outstanding Service Award
This is a special/prestigious award to recognize an individual who has and continues to provide significant contributions to the Illinois Water Environment Association. The recipient will have given outstanding service to the IWEA over the longevity of their membership.
Paul Clinebell Outstanding Service Award Recipients

Golden Manhole Award
This award acknowledges an individual that has made significant contributions in promoting individual professionalism and pride among those working in the design, management, construction, operations and maintenance of collection systems. It also acknowledges contributions to the success of the Illinois Water Environment Association and its goals, and effort over an extensive period of time which has positively contributed to the betterment of individuals associated with collection systems.
Golden Manhole Award Recipeints

William D. Hatfield Award
This award acknowledges an operator of a wastewater treatment plant for outstanding performance and professionalism.
Hatfield Award Recipients

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
This award acknowledges an individual for outstanding performance, professionalism, and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.
Laboratory Award Recipients

Kenneth C. Merideth Memorial Award
This award acknowledges an individual who has performed duties above and beyond the usual employment requirements so as to elevate the status of the plant operator and promote operator professionalism within the State of Illinois.
Merideth Award Recipients

Outstanding Young Professional Award
This Award recognizes the contribution of  young water environment professionals for significant contributions to the IWEA and to the advancement of knowledge, technology, and practices in the operation, management, design or construction of wastewater and pollutions prevention systems.
Outstanding Young Professional Award Recipients

Public Official Award 
Technical The Public Official Award is presented to an elected or appointed public official that has made a documented significant contribution in the areas of clean water legislation, public policy, government service or another area of public prominence that resulted in improvements to the water environment. The award can be presented for public service at local, state or federal level.
Public Official Award Recipients

Presentation Award
This award is acknowledges outstanding presentations at the IWEA Annual Conference.  The award recipient is chosen based on evaluations submitted by conference attendees.
Technical Presentation Award Recipients