Our Mission: To connect and enrich the Illinois water community
and increase the awareness of the impact and value of water.

George W. Burke Safety Award

Award Description

This award was established to encourage municipal and industrial wastewater facilities to participate in promoting an active and effective safety program and to stimulate the collecting and reporting in injury data. The recipient is chosen based on the quality of their documented safety program as well as innovative actions taken to prevent injuries and corrective measures taken when an injury occurs.

Burke Award On-line Nomination Form

2020 - 2029

2024City of Crystal Lake
2023Village of Hanover Park STP
2021City of St. Charles
2020Streator Wastewater Treatment Facility 

2010 - 2019

2018Carol Stream Water Reclamation Center
2017American Bottoms WWTP
2015Sanitary District of Decatur
2014Village of Bloomingdale WRF
2013Streator WTF
2012City of St. Charles
2010 Sanitary District of Decatur

2000 - 2009

2008Streator WTF
2007Mount Vernon EMC
2006OMI Inc., Carol Stream
2005American Bottoms WTF
2004City of Moline, North Slope Plant
2002Lincoln WTP
2001 City of Moline, North Slope Plant

1990 - 1999

1999Streator WTF
1998Village of Addison North Treatment Plant
1997West Chicago Regional WTP
1996City of Moline, South Slope Plant
1994Salt Creek Sanitary District
1993City of Pontiac
1992City of Mount Vernon
1991Greater Peoria Sanitary and Sewage Disposal District
1990Village of Bloomingdale

1984 - 1989

1989Village of Addison
1988Vernon Hills New Century Treatment Plant - Lake County
1987Metropolitan Sanitary District of Greater Chicago
1986City of Kankakee
1985Yorkville - Bristol Sanitary District
1984Lake County Public Works - Granwood Park Sewage Treatment Plant