Committees: Students & Young Professionals


Committee Chair:

Dr. Dominic Brose
(708) 588-3134


Vice Chair:

Barbara Scapardine
(312) 751-5938

Committee Members

Jay Bielanski, Greeley and Hansen
Christopher DeSilva, Greeley and Hansen
Paul Hurley, Greeley and Hansen
Sarah Langeliers, Carollo Engineering
Mwende Lefler, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
Nick Menninga, Downers Grove Sanitary District
Donald Miller, Sanitary District of Decatur
Dr. Cindy Qin, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Committee Description

IWEA Sustainability Committee has been established with the goal of developing a sustainability framework specifically for the Illinois water resource recovery industry that all facilities can use to measure progress towards sustainability regardless of their size or staff expertise. Evaluation through measurable metrics is one of the best ways to support sustainability programs such as resource recovery, energy neutrality, or the beneficial reuse of biosolids. The Sustainability
Committee will also seek opportunities to share with IWEA members information on sustainability programs and grant opportunities from local, state, and federal agencies.