Our Mission: To connect and enrich the Illinois water community
and increase the awareness of the impact and value of water.


Committees: Students & Young Professionals


Committee Chair:

Ed Jankun
(773) 405-8593


Vice Chair:



Meagan Matias - MWRDGC (chair)
Shantanu Aqrawal
Dylan Cooney
Saki Handa
Paul Hurley
Edward Jankun
Kelly Lockerbie
Lou Storino
Fred Wu

Student Sub-Committee Description

The Student Chapter Committee has been established with the goals of encouraging students in the "learning" phase of water quality and to ensure students attain information and data, which are both current and relevant to their studies. The committee seeks out new schools to start up student chapters and encourages and provides continued support to established student chapters; Illinois Institute of Technology, Northwestern University and University of Illinois. The IWEA Student Chapter Committee is a joint committee with the Illinois Section of the American Water Works Association. Through participation, students receive:

  • Resources to establish themselves in the water quality field
  • Meeting and interacting with professionals in the industry
  • Recognition in competition, scholarships, leadership
  • Mentoring and employment guidance
  • Tours of treatment plants and manufacturing companies in the water industry
  • Low membership costs
  • Information through the WEF periodicals and seminars
  • Free registration to WEFTEC®

Young Professionals Sub-Committee Description

Encourages young professionals to join our Association and take leadership roles with the overarching objective to make the Association more vibrant and dynamic. Provides opportunities to network with the peers/colleagues you will work with throughout your career.

Partner Organizations

IWEA Young Professionals often partner with ISAWWA and CSWEA Young Professionals. Check out the ISAWWA website and the CSWEA website.

YP Newsletter

View the latest edition of the WEF Young Professionals Newsletter.